Affiliated to the University of Calicut

Reaccredited by NAAC with 'A++' grade




The activities of the department started with the inaugural function of the Physics association held on 27th September 2017. The function was presided over by Prof. George S. Paul, former H. O. D. of the Physics department, who delivered a talk on “Physics of Music”. Student’s cultural programs were also a part of the function.



The department organized a seminar on 22nd September 2017 on the topic “Current advances in Nanostructures and thin films”. The resource person was Dr. M. C. Santhosh Kumar, Department of Physics, NIT-Trichy.

Physics Department conducted Prof. N. Narayanakutty and Fr. George Plassery endowment seminar on the topic “Design concepts of electronic experiments”. Students from various colleges participated in the seminar. The seminar was presented by Prof. V. C. Suresh, PSMO College, Thirurangadi, on Oct. 20, 2017.


Physics department with the support of the association made an apreciable triumph in Chilamb Kalolsavam conducted on 29th Nov. 2017. Physics department won the overall championship and received the trophy.

The department conducted a seminar on the topic “The tale of two discoveries – the discovery of Saraswathy cluster and gravitational waves” on 19th Dec. 2017. The resource person was Prof. Joe Jacob, Newman College, Thodupuzha.


On February 3rd 2018 Physics department conducted a National Seminar ‘Computer interfaced Science experiments using ExpEyes and SeeLablet’ with Dr.B.P.Ajithkumar, Scientist H, IUAC, NewDelhi as the resource person.






Physics department in support of the association conducted “Ovation – an intercollegiate physics presentation contest for the BSc. Physics students” on 14th Feb. 2018. Akhil Varghese and Navaneeth Krishnan of 2nd year physics won the 1st prize.




An intercollegiate physics quiz competition for Prof. E. K. Narayanan memorial ever rolling trophy was conducted on 27th Feb 2018. Students from various colleges participated in the competition. Ismail T A and Anju K S of 3rd year BSc. Physics won the 1st prize.

Department conducted Model JAM and NET exams for BSc and MSc students in association with Academy of Physics Teachers (APT) Kerala.





Department of Physics organised a state level seminar workshop on the topic Quantum Theory of Scattering on 23rd and 24th June, 2018 in association with Academy of Physics Teachers (APT) Kerala.



A national conference, MATERIALS, METHODS AND SENSORS FOR ELECTROMAGNETIC APPLICATIONS (emMET – II 2019) was organised by the department in honour of retiring HOD, Prof. V P Anto. Program conducted on 24th and 25 Jan, 2019 was inaugurated by Dr. Joe Jacon. Dr. Jaising (IIT Dhanbadh) was the chief guest.        





Sasthrajalakam, a three day residential learning program for high school students,  sponsored by Kerala State Educational Technology was conducted on 01st November 2018 under the leadership of department.



Sasthrapadam, a similar program for higher secondary students sponsored by Kerala Higher Secondary Education Department was conducted between 1st  to 3rd February 2019. Both the programs were under the leadership of Dr. K Y Shaju, Associate Professor, Physics Department.




Department conducted an All Kerala Inter Collegiate Physics Quiz competition for the Prof. E. K. Narayanan Memorial ever-rolling trophy on 19th February 2019. Department together with association conducted “Ovation – an intercollegiate physics presentation contest for the BSc. Physics students” on 18th Feb. 2019.




Mr.Ronaldo Roy of Second year B Sc Physics attended the RD camp 2019 at New Delhi and Selected for the esteemed Youth Exchange Program held at Kazakhstan to represent India.


Mr. Balagopal S Marar of Second year B Sc Physics was selected as KALAPRATHIBA in the D zone competitions of University.





Department of Physics organised a two-day national workshop on “Formulation of Statistical Mechanics” in association with Academy of Physics Teachers (APT), Kerala on 22-23 June 2019. Dr. S.V.M. Satyanarayana, Pondichery University and Prof. C. Joseph Prabagar, Loyola College, Chennai were the resource persons. 23 teachers from various districts of Kerala and 2 teachers from Tamil Nadu were present.



Department conducted a talk on the topic “A peek into the high energy universe” on 07/08/2019. The resource person was Dr. Shabnam I.S., IUCAA (Inter University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics), Pune.



In collaboration with entrepreneurship development club, department conducted a “Student solar ambassador workshop” on 02/10/2019 in under the leadership of IIT, Mumbai. Plus two N.S.S. Volunteers from M.E.S.P. Vemballur and Christ College students participated and received training in assembling of Solar LED lamps.



The formal inauguration of the Physics Association was held on 18th  December, 2019 by Dr. Nijo Varghese, Sacred Heart College Chalakudy. After the formal inauguration there was a class by Dr.Nijo on the topic “2019 Nobel prize in Physics”.



On 19th December, 2019 a talk on “Solar eclipse and how to watch it safely” was organised by the department. Dr. K. Y. Shaju, HOD-in-Charge, organised the class. Safe goggles for viewing of solar eclipse were distributed in the event.



A national Workshop on Computer Interfaced Science Experiments and Re-designing of Physics lab was held on 15th January 2020. Dr. B. P. Ajith Kumar, Scientist IUAC, New Delhi, Dr. K.Y.Shaju, HOD-in-Charge,  and Sri.Muhammed Rafeek E.K., HSST (Sr.) in Physics, Govt. HSS Marayamangalam were the resource persons.



On 17th January, 2020 a talk on “General Theory of Relativity” was conducted. Sri.Sreerag S Kumar, 3rd year BSc physics student of MES Asmabi College was the resource person.



A 2-days Physics fest was organised on 22nd and 23rd January, 2020. Intercollegiate E. K. Narayanan Memorial quiz competition; Ovation, an intercollegiate Power Point presentation contest were held as a part of the fest. A physics stage show was conducted by Dr.T.R.Ananthakrishnan, visiting faculty, International School of Photonics, CUSAT, Kochi on 23rd  January. Apart from these an intra-college Troll competition was held. An exhibition organised in Physics lab was opened for Higher Secondary students of nearby schools.





On 01/02/2020 and 15/02/2020 two-day LateX training workshop was conducted for M.Sc. first year students. 27 students from other colleges and also our students and teachers participated. Dr. K.Y.Shaju, HOD-in-Charge, Physics Department of Christ College was the resource person.



On 28th February 2020, the National Science Day, celebrated with a Lecture cum demonstration on “Need of Scientific Temper” lead by Mr. N. C. Prasanth of Govt. V H S S, Koyilandy, Kozhikode. The purpose was to demonstrate the ability of science to the better the social condition by exposing the absurdity of superstitions.



An MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING (MOU) was signed between Dept. of Physics and EKN Centre for Education, Research and Developement, Irinjalakuda, Thrissur Reg.No. 593/2003, TSR on 14th  January, 2020. It has been decided to jointly organize Physics education programs with the yearly financial help from EKN Centre.

© 2021 Christ College Irinjalakuda Since 1956
Website Powered by iDynasite from INI Technologies Pvt Ltd, India