Departments > Chemistry

Post graduate and Research Department of Chemistry


The Chemistry department started functioning with the very inception of the college in the year 1956. In 1957 B.Sc Chemistry course was started with the able guidance of Prof.A.C.Joseph. In 1967 MSc Chemistry course was started with Dr. M.M.Chandy as the head of the department. It was raised to the status of research department in 1975.

            Many students bagged prestigious scholarship from renowned foreign institution to pursue doctoral and post doctoral work. The department has the unique privilege of having the greatest number of students working in prestigious institutions like IISC Bangalore, IICT Hyderabad, NCL Puni, IITs, NIIST Thiruvanathapuram etc. Dr..Muraleedharan G Nair , Professor, Michigan university, USA who developed many cancer drugs and Prof. Dr.Ajayan Pulickel, world famous nano chemist were our former students. Till date more than 150 students have passed CSIR/UGC/GATE examinations.

            In 1987, a major research project in New Organic Farming Technology was undertaken by the department under Prof. Mathew P. John. Other minor research projects funded by the STEC and UGC were also undertaken by the members of the Faculty. The Faculty has been giving extension lectures to school and college teachers. A number of community development programmes were also carried out by the department. Each year students are trained in the manufacturing of toilet soaps and detergent.  

In the department, currently has16 students pursuing Ph D work and one student already have obtained Ph D from Bharathiyar university in 2014. And another student have already submitted Ph D thesis in March 2015.

            The Department is also collaborating with Physics department in conducting an interdisciplinary UGC sponsored PG diploma course entitled ²Sustainable and Green energy technologies². At present the department has 10 faculty members. Rev. Dr. T M. Jose is the principal of the college, is also a faculty member of Chemistry Department. Dr.Mathew Paul Ukken is the present Head of the department and also the vice principal of the college.