Institution > History & Profile

Christ College was started in 1956, by the Devamatha Province of the Carmelites of Mary Immaculate (CMI), an indigenous religious congregation founded in 1831 by Saint Cyriac Elias , A Religious Priest and versatile genius , who envisioned education as a tool for liberation and development.

Founded as per the  provisions of the Indian Constitution, part III, Article 30(1) and administered by Christ College Educational Society, (Regd. No. 137/75), this college is a Minority institution, affiliated to Calicut University and Re-accredited by NAAC with highest grade 'A'. Christ College is dedicated to Jesus Christ, and has as its motto "Jeevitha Prabha", which means "Light of Life".
Following recomendation from state government,The college has been confired the "Autonomous status" by University Grants Commission(UGC) during the year 2015,the Diamond Jubilee year of the college .Diamond Jubilee Year since its inception.

Christ College is part of a century-old tradition of CMI education that is at its heart, Christian and specifically catholic. It offers an ideal vision of education that is aware of and responsive to the challenges of the nation's present situation.

Rev. Fr. Gabriel CMI 18-06-1956 to 31-03-1975
Rev. Fr. J.V. Ambookan CMI 01-04-1975 to 19-04-1985
Rev. Fr. Jose Stephen CMI 20-04-1985 to 22-04-1991
Rev. Fr. Thomas A . Achandy CMI 23-04-1991 to 21-04-1994
Rev. Fr. Jose Chittilappilly CMI 22-04-1994 to 31-03-1998
Rev. Fr. C.A.Thomas CMI 01-04-1998 to 30-04-2003
Rev. Fr. Francis Kurissery CMI 01-05-2003 to 31-05-2004
Rev. Fr. C.O. Jose CMI (Fr.Jose Chunkan) 01-06-2004 to 31-03-2006
Rev. Dr.Joseph K.M. CMI 20-07-2006 to 13-06-2007
Rev. Dr. T.M. Jose CMI ( Fr. Jose Thekkan) 15-10-2007   (in seat)

Rev. Fr. Clemens Thottungal CMI 1955 to 1956
Rev. Fr. Leontius Kanjirathingal CMI 1956 to 1959
Rev. Fr. Malachias CMI 1959 to 1962
Rev. Fr. Leontius Kanjirathingal CMI 1962 to 1966
Rev. Fr. Gerard Porathur CMI 1966 to 1969
Rev. Fr. Callistus Maliekal CMI 1969 to 1972
Rev. Fr. Caius Edattukaran CMI 1972 to 1975
Rev. Fr. Eusebius Kizhakkoden CMI 1975 to 1978
Rev. Fr. Joseph Pastor Neelamkavil CMI 1978 to 1981
Rev. Fr. Leontius Kanjirathingal CMI 1981 to 1984
Rev. Fr. John Kollannur CMI 1984 to 1987
Rev. Fr. Oliver Inchody CMI 1987 to 1990
Rev. Fr. John Tharayil CMI 1990 to 1993
Rev. Fr. Caius Edattukaran CMI 1993 to 1996
Rev. Fr. Paul Kozhippat CMI 1996 to 1999
Rev. Fr. Eustace Thottan CMI 1999 to 2002
Rev. Fr. Jose Chunkan CMI 2002 to 2004
Rev. Fr. Antony Pallipadan CMI 2004 to 2005
Rev. Fr. John Karippai 2005 to 2006
Rev. Fr. Paul Alengattukaran CMI 2006 to 2008
Rev. Fr. Jose Stephen Menachery CMI 2008  to 2011
Rev. Fr. John Paliakkara CMI 2011  to 2013
Rev.Fr.John Thottappilly CMI in seat    

Related Photographs
Main block (right...
Main block (right side view)
Main block (left side...
Main block (left side view)
Entrance view
Entrance view
College beautified
College beautified
New face
New face
Majestic Christ...
Majestic Christ College!
A look at the...
A look at the RoyalRoad from the top!